Write, wrote, written

I always wrote. I still do. I started following blogs when I was maybe 12. Before that there were forums and fan fiction websites.

Does clopotel.ro ring a bell? I don’t remember what everything was all about, but there were kids from all over the country, exchanging on different topics. Got the first yahoo ids of strangers from there. Strangers sounds weird. Kids I didn’t know nor will I ever meet face to face.

There was another forum I have few memories of. That’s when I started writing my first novel and the second. Silly drafts I never finished.

I think somewhere around this time we were learning at school (or actually, at an after school class that was paid by our parents) how to create your website in html. We were writing in notepad commands that would create the title of a text, the paragraphs and so on. Fun times.

Then it was a Harry Potter forum. I don’t know how I got to that one. It was a really fun one. I was the professor of Transfiguration (because McGonagall will always rock). Then stuff went wrong and we started a revolution against the creator of this website. It was fun but also, the guy deleted the website. Such a pity.

So I got into a fan fiction forum where people would write about things and the others would comment. Some had original characters. Others were doing some spin offs from beloved series (back then, twilight was the main deal).

Somewhere in between, I had a piczo website. You know, the kind of website you’d enter and music would start playing. I convinced someone to help me with that feature, so basically on each and every page I’d have a different song playing. I spent a lot of time building that website, it was really fun.

Then came the dumb, pre-adolescence. Hi5. Sharing many pics, leaving hundreds of comments to people. A friend made a contest out of this so one would try to leave 50-100 comments at once. How? Just click on the button publish / send so many times and then it would happen. Tried to convince my friends to do so as well. Epic fail.

I think I tried MySpace but no one was on it.

Then came the first blog on a random domain. Right before high school. I was already reading many cool bloggers (only very few are left). I was too young to be invited to their meetings so I was just really looking forward that one would say how it went. On that random domain I believe I wrote about my classmates and how I won’t miss any of them. Got threatened with a beating by a classmate (girl, because girls rock).

Then I decided that it was time for serious things. WordPress. Started writing before I started high school. Had a really great name. Got hacked by some of my internet frenemies. We were good friends until a point, then got into a fight, then somehow got hacked. Kudos to them, still don’t know how they did it.

I created right away a new blog. I think I wrote until the end of high school. Maybe just a bit more? My articles were getting a bit dramatic, while trying to be a cool teenager. I think I stopped writing when I started university. It was a new world and I had no time to do that anymore. Or it was difficult to find something to talk about. I was getting internships, part time jobs, while keeping up with my classes. One thing led to another, one country to another, and seven years later after getting my bachelor degree, here I am. Rock me like a hurricane.

2 responses to “Write, wrote, written”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started