Life lately #3

Current status: I have a book hangover after finishing Yellowface by R.F. Kuang. I really enjoyed this book (seems like a phrase I use very often). I’m wondering where the month of March went. Well, hello April! It’s rainy here and it will be like this for the whole week but at least it will be warmer!

Things I’m doing these days: well, reading. I got some really good e-books recently and my eyes were glued to my phone, maybe for the right reason? I know it’s not good, it’s not healthy… but this is the only way right now I can read. After getting the tiny one to sleep, I cannot move from bed to elsewhere. So reading on the phone it is! I restarted German classes but… well, it’s a class where people aren’t really motivated and they seem below my level. I only went once, I missed 3 classes (2 because I missed the inscription period, 1 because I was down with a stomach bug), I don’t know how I’ll every be slightly coherent in German. I know I have to try, I have to, I have to, but right now I don’t see it. I don’t have the mental space to exercise in my spare time, I practice too little and here we go. Next week I’m flying to Bucharest so I’ll probably be a happy lizard in the sun, at 25 degrees. Right now my screen shows 8 degrees and light rain. Just so you know where I’m coming from!

Food zone: I think for some weeks I was doing really well with the mealprep, but it’s just exhausting. Looking forward to my week of not cooking and not even worrying about food.

Book nook: March was a really good month, especially for ebooks. I read 6 books which is amaaaaazing, out of which 4 were on my phone. Really enjoyed Rachel Hawkins with The Villa and The Heiress – looking forward to a buddy reading for The Wife Upstairs and maybe Reckless Girls! A special mention to Lucy Grealy with Autobiography of a Face, I was really impressed by it. It is about Lucy who, as a child, has cancer and as a result, her jaw removed. All her teenage years and youth were spent on operations to repair this, Grealy being constantly obsessed with her face. It was a sad read and I really hope she found her peace, wherever she is.

Podcasts: I am waiting for an audiobook, meanwhile I was listening to You’re wrong about, my forever favorite podcast (the latest episode is on Britney’s book), and In plain romanian, a radio show from Luxembourg in… Romanian 🙂

Currently watching: we finished Fauda and now we’re watching Monk. I finished Fool me once and Safe, both on Netflix, both by Harlan Coben. I never read the guy, but who knows. There are more shows based on his books, I’ll give them a try (I also watched Stay Close but gun to my head, can’t remember what it was about. I only know it was with the cool lawyer from The Good Wife). I started *blushes* Bridgerton. Better late than never? I have mixed feelings about it!

Any other business: a lot of (self imposed) deadlines for this week, I need to give an interview (whehe!) and to polish my draft who’ll have a fresh pair of eyes criticizing it. I’m both relieved and worried. I’m a mixed bag of emotions regarding my next steps, professionally speaking. I know it’s a bit too early to think about it, but this one isn’t fluent in all 3 administrative languages of Luxembourg, so nothing will fall out of the blue sky! The magnolias have bloomed and so far they’re lucky because the temperature won’t go very low this year.

Wishing everyone a good month!

4 responses to “Life lately #3”

  1. I understand you so well concerning the book hangover! The last one I had was after I finished the Harry Potter series; it’s been a while (almost 5 years), but I still remember it because it was so strong. Kind of kept me “there” several months after…

    I have not watched any series from the ones you did (or you are currently watching), but Monk is making me very curious… Fauda is not so “mine” … I consider starting “The Fall”, after I finish “The Good Doctor” (can’t believe it’s the last season).

    As for the German language… I think you will be into it, when the time comes. Its time, I mean 😀

    I hope you had a nice time in Bucharest 🙂 And I wish you a nice week ahead 🙂

    Like

  2. I never know in which language should I comment on your blog.

    I loved Fool me Once and since then I went down the rabbit hole for a few weeks and binge watched and read crime & mysteries. I stopped though, I have nightmares :))

    Good luck with your interview 

    Like

    • just don’t comment in Unserdeutsch! (learned about it yesterday, it’s a german dialect from Papua New Guinee, sounds like how I speak German). I read “soft” crime & mysteries, my lastest addiction is Rachel Hawkins 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started