Reading & Watching #1

Just like my friend here, I’d like to talk a bit about the books I’m currently reading and the movies / TV shows I’m watching.

This year is probably the first out of many to come with very few books read. My current books focus a bit on psychology, relationships and a bit of parenting.

Currently reading:

  • Mothering our boys by Maggie Dent – ok, sounds… like it sounds! There were very few boys in my extended family growing up, so I think it’s important to understand how boys work, mentally, physically, you name it. For instance, I know you shouldn’t compare children, but it seems that boys are slower in acquiring some skills that girls are much better at (being patient, staying in one place and drawing etc.)
  • The book you wish your parents have read by Philippa Perry – so far, it seems that every reaction you have it’s rooted somewhere in your childhood. You’re not angry at your partner or child because they did something, but because when you did that thing, someone got upset with you while you were a child, or something like that. Partially true, I hope the book gets better.
  • The seven husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid – this is a reread, one of the very few books I give this honor to. It is for a book club I’ll be attending this Friday. I love TJR and her books! They’re so captivating and you usually finish them in a day or two because you can’t get away from their magic.

Regarding TV: I have series that I’m watching alone and series I see with my partner and I’m currently suffering because we advance very slowly – one episode or none per evening -, so all the new seasons have to wait until we finish:

  • The good doctor – I have to research a bit the main actor, he seems to have only weird roles (saw him in Bates motel). It’s a catchy series but I heard that the team behind the show doesn’t illustrate very well autism. We’re at season 3!
  • Santa Clarita Diet – this one I’m watching alone. The first season was meh, but now, getting to the last episodes, I enjoy it! I know they canceled the series and I understand the disappointment: it was getting better!
  • Beef – I watched this alone, no remorse! It was really awesome! I really like Ali Wong! I didn’t particularly enjoy the last episode, but all the others were great. From the intro, the name of the episodes, the disturbing images at the beginning, the plot… outstanding!
  • Valeria – ugh. Just ugh. The first season should’ve been the only season. The third one exists just to occupy space. I’m at the third or fourth episode and I’m seriously considering dropping it.
  • Orange is the new Black – I’m rewatching it because I saw it was the 10 year anniversary of the show so I said, why not?

On the waiting list we have: The Lincoln Lawyer (a really great first season, I hope it will keep up the momentum), Manifest (just to get over with it, I’m not particularly fond of it anymore), New Amsterdam (very excited about it!!!), Clark (the guy behind the Stockholm Syndrome). As you can see, saving the best for the best. In the meantime, if you have any recommendations for shows I could watch alone – meaning not great, not terrible – please let me know!

2 responses to “Reading & Watching #1”

  1. I am absolutely in love with Shaun and Lea and even more with Dr. Lim 🙂 Otherwise, I haven’t seen any of the series you mentioned – as it happens, I am (still) watching “Murder, she wrote”. When I finish it I think I will re-start “Elementary” (so far I have seen 4 seasons, highly recommended if you like detective stories) and maybe we will start together “The Mentalist”.

    Like

    • Oh yes, I love Dr. Lim as well! And Glassy has his charm! I like that they’re trying a bit to get the characters out from their only trait, like Claire or Morgan, but they’re not always succeeding. I watched Elementary but I think it’s no longer on Netflix and I saw The mentalist yeeeears ago!

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started