Life’s small victories

  • One thing about me: I hate to pay for parking. But I’m not a rascal and I understand that if I want to be in the comfort of my car I have to pay for it. But I hate it. Truly, madly, deeply. The place I frequent has a shopping mall which offers two hours of free parking if you buy something from any of the shops related to the mall (it used to be 3 hours if you buy something and back in the day, it used to be 3 hours no matter whether you bought something or not – anyway, not the point). I got in at 11:48 and I got out at 13:48. You should’ve seen me racing to the car like a madwoman, throwing the stuff I bought in the trunk, and leaving on two wheels (ok, four wheels but you get it). When the card got in and the barrier lifted I was ecstatic. I also have to mention I had a coke before and I probably didn’t have one in… months.
  • Related to the previous point, one of the supermarkets has these automatic money boxes, as in you can put coins or banknotes in and you get the change automatically, the cashier doesn’t have access to money. So I decided that today is the day: I went with a tiny bag of coins!! I paid 46€ in coins. And it took maybe 2-3 minutes to get all the coins in. Imagine the joy of the people behind me. But the cashier was happy and I was ecstatic! (See the coke story above!)
  • After this madness, I had to go to the pharmacy to get some vitamins. I parked next to it, because the space is informally used as a parking. Mhm. Got out, got in the car and I was changing a diaper when I hear some cars honking because one car stopped in the middle of the road (ok it’s a tiny street but anyways). I’m not even starting to laugh and eye-roll at the driver who has the car stopped, that I see some tiny writing on the stopped car… it’s no one else but the municipal agent who fines people if they are badly parked or if the clock ran out on your parking ticket. I get out of the car (back seat), with a baby in my arms. The guy has his window down, ready to attack (did I mention I had a sugar rush?). I say that I was just changing a diaper and leaving and he’s like: oh, ok. The relief. Not to mention that as I was turning, another woman was trying to park there and I whispered to her: the police is here! (Ok, not really police but you get the point – and yes, I whispered with all my windows closed and she understood me) and she smiled and was waiting for me to leave so she can turn as well.

That’s all, folks! (I’m not sure if there’s any link between my sugar rush and me listening to this podcast – which is my absolute favorite – episode on Bonnie and Clyde before.)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started