Runaway cat

(Written on Friday, forgot to click publish)

The cat has disappeared Wednesday morning or around that time, because she didn’t come at breakfast. During the summer she sleeps mainly outside and now with autumn and winter she sleeps with us. It was a bit weird that she wasn’t there for breakfast. I called her when I could but there was no answer. I checked the rooftops (see below why) but nothing.

In the evening, after it got a bit dark, we went on the street to call her. We found her locked in a neighbor’s garage. We rang and we rang but the neighbor wasn’t at home. We managed last night to slip under the window food and water…

I texted some of my neighbors asking if they have her phone number… I even scared one last night ringing at their place at around 20h. They gave me a number that wasn’t working anymore…

I reach out to someone who I met through my research who claimed that he knows everyone in the town… and man did he! He gave me the right number! The neighbor is an old lady and she loves her, said she had a cat that left and never came back and that our cat is spending a lot of time with her and it makes her happy. She was sad when she heard the cat is locked in her garage but she was away… so she sent down someone who takes care of her house in the meantime. In less than 10 minutes after talking to her, the man came and we freed the kitty!

This is not the first time things like this happen. One year ago she disappeared again for two days. On the second day (luckily it was a holiday and we were both at home) we went around and found her… on the highest rooftop of a religious place. Yep. We tried calling the people from there, to no avail. I called the firemen which told me: “she’s a cat, she’ll come down”. Except… she didn’t. For two days.

So… we grabbed the longest ladder ever and my boyfriend climbed on the rooftop to grab her. Luckily she came halfway and he was able to pick her up. Also, she was very lucky because even if it was summer, it was a bit cloudy / rainy so she didn’t support too much heat.

I mean… she’s the smartest cat I know and she really pays attention to her moves and what she’s doing. But that 1% of idiocy… it’s taken to the next level!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started