Life lately #1

This should be a regular blog post from now on, let’s see how it goes.

Current status: stuck at home because the roads are too slippery, there’s code red everywhere and we can’t really get out of the house without breaking into ice skating. Meetings got cancelled or moved online. It’s nice that we got to do our family breakfast (which we have time for only on Sundays) and we got a nice start into the day. I am struggling with motivation right now at work, I want to wrap up a project before starting a new one (although I could already jump in in the new one but… I don’t feel like it so I really drag my feet).

Things I’m doing these days: I won’t be so optimistic to say that I’m trying to get back in shape, but yes. I realized that there are sports classes in the building next to mine, they offer lunch classes so… what’s stopping me? I used to have lunch at my desk anyway so I guess it’s a win on all accounts. I signed up for Yoga and Pilates. I didn’t have enough courage to sign up for a running class. Maybe in spring. Maybe. I’ll try do go to these classes at least twice a week. Now that the weather is nice (read: it’s not raining) I’m going for afternoon walks with the little one. I think it’s working great for both of us: we have some time to unwind, to see the snow, and I to listen to some podcasts during this time.

Food zone: I’m starting meal planning again. It’s really hard to do it, because you set up a plan when you’re well rested and fully motivated, but you don’t know how you’ll be mid-week. Also, I’m trying to use more and more the Instant Pot (got it a few weeks ago and I really like it), but Mr. doesn’t seem very in love with it. I got it for him actually, since he’s been the MasterChef in our household for a while now but… there’s no chemistry. Speaking of, I’m trying to have a healthier diet, by having this new rule: 2 salad lunches, 2 vegetarian dinners and eat at least one fruit before going to more processed things (aka peanut m&ms). I think it’s really hard to switch to a vegetarian meal on purpose because your brain says: but there’s no meat, I’m not full. Small steps, let’s see how it goes. (I’m not saying that we’re eating meat at every meal but if it’s something vegetarian it’s not like… planned and intended to be so. Does it make sense?)

Book Nook: I’m caught up in The Secret History by Donna Tartt. I’m halfway through and I really hated Bunny. Someone told me that I should wait, so let’s see. In the first days of the year I finished I’m glad my mom died by Jeannette McCurdy. I didn’t know her before but now I became sort of obsessed with her. I listened to her in the Armchair Expert podcast and I’ll give her podcast a try.

Podcasts: speaking of that. My number one will always be You’re Wrong About. I love Sarah and Mike, even if Mike left some time ago. I’m listening to some old episodes and I discovered those about Jessica Simpson. I devoured them! That was practically my motivation to go outside for a walk.

Any Other Business: none

I think that’s it from my side. Wishing you a great day and if you’re also on red alert, stay safe 🙂

2 responses to “Life lately #1”

  1. I very much like this idea of regular posts on the given topics 🙂 It will be definitely interesting for you to read all of them towards the end of year and see what you have achieved 🙂

    I wish you a nice start in the week! 🙂 Unbelievable, January is almost gone already…

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started