Life lately #2

I started one of these posts last weekend while I was nap trapped in the car but nothing came out of it. Here, let me try again.

Current status: took a day off because I had some appointments, realized quite late (but just in time) that I scheduled two almost at the same time, had to cancel one. I’m a bit more motivated than the last time (ok, it’s an understatement, I was really productive these days!) and seems like the January blues wore off. I mean, I blinked and here we are, middle of February!

Things I’m doing these days: Well, I continue like last month, at least once a week I’m going to a yoga or pilates class, depending on my availability. I’m quite sore after pilates so it makes me question how out of shape I am. On the other hand, the teacher is a mean Frenchie that makes you work and mocks when you’re doing the wrong posture. I’m definitely in the right class. I’m still taking daily walks when it’s not raining. Or not raining heavily.

Food zone: I got a bit overwhelmed with meal planning because generally I was taking recipes that I wanted to do. And I don’t always have the time (read: crying baby won’t let me cook unless said baby is on the counter with me and I give stuff to eat while I’m cooking). So while I’m still meal planning, I’m splitting the things like: for the beginning of the week you cook, and mid-end of the week when there’s low energy here are the easy recipes I’ll do. The vegetarian thing works so and so and I realize we’re not salad people. Like actively making salad. Eating it for lunch during a conference or a seminar? Sure!

Book nook: Reading slump taking over? Not sure. I finished reading As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow by Zoulfa Katouh and I think it took me more time to finish the last chapter when everything is way to cheesy than finish the whole book. I enjoyed it, I guess I wasn’t aware or didn’t think too much about the Syrian conflict. I started reading Copilaria lui Kasper Hauser by BAS, let’s see how this one goes.

Podcasts: I didn’t listen to any podcast recently, I’m struggling with an audiobook called How to Talk So Little Kids Will Listen: A Survival Guide to Life with Children Ages 2-7 by Joanna Faber, Julie King. I know I’m not there yet but it’s good to have a heads up. To be honest, it’s a bit exhausting. All the mental gymnastics one has to do…

Currently watching: we’re watching Fauda! And it’s amazing. I mean I have a soft spot for Palestine ever since we went there many light years ago. It’s not great watching it right before sleep but it is what it is. In parallel, I’m watching Griselda. I’m really expecting Sofia Vergara to get out of character and just be Gloria from Modern Family. Guess it won’t happen, huh? I finished a Spanish series called If only which was ugh.

Any other business: we have a week off in April and I have decided that I’m way too mentally tired to plan a trip. We were hesitating between islands and things, but I just couldn’t. Normally I’m the one who plans everything but I just… can’t. So I decided that I’ll fly back home and hopefully get to relax a bit. (Who are we kidding, we know I won’t.)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started